Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-29-2011, 11:19 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Manual focusing with K-5 - is it good?

Hello folks!

I don't own a K-5 yet, but wondering what MF is like with it?

At the moment I am using a K20D with Katx-Eye split image focusing screen which I fin very good.

What do the folks with K-5 use to MF? Do you use Live View much?

05-29-2011, 11:34 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I suspect it's actually about the same. The matte screen certainly looks the same to me. I believe you may be able to just put your Katz in the K-5, but I have no direct experience with that.

Sent from my EVO 4G with MIUI
05-29-2011, 11:37 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It should be about the same. Magnification in live view can help you focus, but it doesn't really speed things up. The only big advantage over the K20D is the 100% viewfinder.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
05-30-2011, 06:11 PM   #4
Veteran Member

You will not be able to share Katz Eye screens between your K20 and K5 - different screens between the K10/K20 and K5/K7.

05-30-2011, 08:59 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Why would you spend all of that money on a K-5 and then shoot MF? Doesn't make sense to me.

Just curious...
05-30-2011, 09:02 PM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by DanielT74 Quote
Hello folks!

I don't own a K-5 yet, but wondering what MF is like with it?

At the moment I am using a K20D with Katx-Eye split image focusing screen which I fin very good.