Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-07-2011, 06:41 PM   #1

Can't find K-5 in any stores?

hi. I'm new to the Pentax forums. I'm contemplating selling some older Canon gear and upgrading to either a the Nikon D7000 or the K-5. I know they have essentially the same sensor, but it seems to me from the reviews that the K-5 has more of the features/ergonomics that I'm looking for.

However, I can't find the K-5 body in a B&M store anywhere... and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, so its not like I'm out in the middle of nowhere. The Pentax Corporate web-site listed 3 authorized retailers in SF; and they all laughed when I called and said they carried no Pentax at all. And none of Fry's, Walmart, Best Buy, Costco, nor Wolf/Ritz stock the K-5.

I guess my question is, do all Pentaxians buy their gear strictly online now? For such a large $$ purchase as a new DSLR is, I'd at least like to hold one in my hands first before pulling the trigger. I live in one of the larger metropolitan regions in the whole U.S., so is this problem endemic to the entire country?

I'd like to support a smaller brand like Pentax, but I feel like they're making it difficult to take that leap. This is a sincere post; I'm not trying to bash the brand. I would appreciate any thoughts or suggestions you might have.

Thanks,
Chris

06-07-2011, 07:07 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Well, Pentax doesn't have much of a B&M presence. I don't mind as I buy my gear (including my very first dSLR 5 years ago) via the web. Sounds like you've checked the usual suspects in your town. Fry's here carries the Kr, but I don't know about the K5.