Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-18-2011, 10:32 AM   #1

Random freezes + sensor stains. Help!

Hey guys,

It's my first time posting in here, but unfortunately it's because I'm having problems with my new K-5

There are two issues: random freezes and sensor stains.

I've had the camera for less two weeks, and I saw it freeze 2 times already. First time when I was in a football game shooting RAW, it froze in review mode and I waited for approximately 2 minutes because the SD card light was still on. I tried turning it off, changed modes, pressed every button I could think of and nothing. Removing the battery was the only thing that worked, and then I lost the last picture I had taken, but that was all.

The other time was when I removed the SD card (it was turned off with the battery in place), the camera suddenly turned on and froze again, saying that there was no card inserted and the top LCD had random symbols on it. I tried turning it on, turning it off again, pressing buttons, etc. Nothing helped, except taking the battery off.

I suspected this was an issue with the SD card (Sandisk Extreme HD Video 30mb/s). The SD card is new, and I had not formatted it before or after putting it in the camera. So, I haven't had any problems after formatting it, but it has only been a day, so I'm unsure if this will solve these issues. Has anyone else experienced similar problems?