Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-24-2011, 09:23 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
dead pixels?

Does anyone know what this blue spot is? Here's an enlargement of a low-light image.

There are two of these blue spots that appear in low-light images taken with my K-5.
They are clearly visible in this full image taken with the lens cap on.

10-24-2011, 11:10 PM   #2
Pentaxian

That's easily fixable.
Just select pixel mapping from the set up menu and go OK.
10-25-2011, 12:05 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by calsan Quote
That's easily fixable.
Just select pixel mapping from the set up menu and go OK.
Thanks - quick and easy.
I've never used px mapping before and the spots were very annoying. Now to satisfy my inquisitiveness and find out what px mapping is and what causes it to be needed...
10-25-2011, 08:22 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
dead pixels or, in your case, hot pixels, are a byproduct of manufacturing a sensor with 16 million photosites in such a small area (each 'pixel' is actually 1R, 1B, and 2G pixels in a square). You can't get them all perfect all the time. some may be perpetually dark, but others are stuck bright. There's usually an upper limit on the number that can be defective before they throwout the sensor, but many sensors, from any given production run, will have these tiny imperfections. what pixel mapping does is takes a picture with no light (it can just keep the shutter closed) and looks for these aberrations, and stores their location so it knows to subtract them from any further photos.

Incidentally if you let your sensor get hot by doing a lot of live view/long exposures, more hot pixels can show up (but will usually go away again when the sensor cools down)

Last edited by jerm1386; 10-26-2011 at 05:39 PM. Reason: I was wrong on the number of photosites
10-25-2011, 09:19 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster