Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-19-2011, 12:10 PM   #1

Inconsist exposure please advise.....

I have a K-20D and a K-5. When I shoot with the K-5 the exposure is NOT close at all to what it is on my K-20D.
I don't know what to do. The pictures from the K-5 are way underexposed compared to the K-20 D.
What can I do? Both were taken at ISO 100 1/125 and 4.5 f-stop
The lighting was exactly the same on both.

11-19-2011, 01:25 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Rene, I am a bit of a newbie so I probably can't help with the answer, but a quick question for clarity might help others help you...

You say you get inconsistent exposure. Do you mean it is inconsistent when compared with your K-20D (as per your example), or are you getting inconsistent exposures from shot to shot with the K-5? Probably the former, I suspect.

FWIW, I thought the second photo looked 'right' to me, warm and natural. But I of course haven't seen the subject or backdrop in natural light to compare.

Hope this contributes to helping...

john a

ps: another newbie thought... is this about white balance rather than exposure?

Last edited by JohnA; 11-19-2011 at 01:32 PM.
11-19-2011, 01:29 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Are you processing these at all? If they're straight JPEG, one looks like it has different processing than the other..if I had to guess, the K20D looks like you ran it through a filter.
11-19-2011, 02:14 PM   #4

Original Poster
JohnA - I mean that I get different results from different cameras. Everything is the same except the bodies. It could be white balance, but I have it set to AUTO on both.
kenyee - The 1st photo is from the K-5. The second one is from the K-20D. These are JPEG straight from the camera. The little fellow is actually just that toasty brown color. The thing that kills me is