Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-21-2011, 12:06 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
My K-5 is on its way!

Yep ... another "I'm very excited because my K-5 is on its way" thread. I won't get it until just after Christmas but it's on its way.

I didn't think I would ever be able to afford one but I got an unexpected $1000 from the sale of two tractors from my Dad's estate. He was a farmer. He's been gone for three years but I feel like he's still taking care of me. It was his Minolta SLR that got me interested in photography so many years ago.

Can't wait to dig in to learn how to use the K-5. I'm not technical so that part is not much fun for me. Wish I had a mentor. It's much easier to learn that way than reading the manual. Anyway, I'm very excited and can't wait to see what I can do with this camera. I'm upgrading from a K-2000 but will keep my trusty K-2000 because I love that camera. I plan to take the K-5 to Africa and Antartica. The weather sealing will come in handy!

12-21-2011, 12:10 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Congratulations!!
12-21-2011, 12:39 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks! Forgot to mention that I ordered it from Amazon because that was the cheapest larger retailer I found. I wonder if B&H or Adorama would have matched. Moot point since it's on its way.
12-21-2011, 01:15 PM   #4
Pentaxian

I hope to join you in a month or so - fingers crossed that one of our sponsors here will offer a post-holiday deal.
Looking forward to mine too. We've no doubt you will be enjoying yours, this is clearly a hard camera to dislike

12-21-2011, 01:42 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Nice. Enjoy. Followed your thread with some interest as to what you would end up doing for your Africa safari. Good choice to go for the new body IMHO. I think the 55-300 will serve you well on the K-5.

Wow, Antartica also in your sights...! Now that sound like another level of travel.
12-21-2011, 01:51 PM   #6