Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-06-2012, 08:41 PM   #1

Upgrade from *ist D

Hello fellow pentax users.
I am new to this group and am looking for some advise. I have been using Pentax for many years...started with a zx-50, then to the *istD. I have a 50mm 1.4, and a 28-300 lens, along with two others that originally came with the zx-50. I am looking for an upgrade, but am not sure which will be a better option. Upgrade to get another lens (wide angle 17-55mm) or upgrade to a new camera body (k-r, K7, K5).
Thank you for your thoughts.

02-06-2012, 08:49 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Why not the best of both worlds and get the K-5 with a kit lens (18-55mm).

Seriously, it depends on what type of shooting you do. The advantages of a K-r/K-5 is the low noise when shooting at high ISO settings. If it were me, I'd get a new body.
02-06-2012, 08:55 PM   #3
Ole
Administrator

Since you're well covered in focal length range with your current lenses, a body upgrade would be my recommendation. You will be amazed how much faster the K-5 is to work with and the image quality is much better, much more detail.
02-06-2012, 08:58 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Why are you upgrading? In most instance I would think the body would be the better choice but it really depends on what you are looking for. A body upgrade with give you better high iso performance as well as shake reduction which will basically make all your lenses perform as if they were a lot faster. You will also get a newer sensor with higher resolution. If you really need the wider angle of a 17mm and or are unhappy with the quality of the glass you currently have, then perhaps a lens upgrade would be more beneficial.