Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-24-2012, 07:25 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
K5 or switch brands?

Hi, I am in a little dilema, I am not a pro and that is my dilema lol serisouly, I shoot a lot of stuff, different stuff and really like the concert, sports photography side of things.

Here is what I currently have, a KX with a tamron 28-70 2.8 and also a tamron 70-200 2.8. Now my problem is I think the kx is just too slow auto focus for the tamron 70-200. Thusly I would like to upgrade to a k5 for sports photography but then what?

I really want to stay with pentax but am concerened that this upgrade body I do should be a different brand so I can start over with lenses before I get too many.

Now let me say that I take my KX and shoot concerts, sports everything, this is not a plug but go to my website below and look at my pics of concerts -

I have shot Taylor Swift right next to guys using D3X's and I think my pics turned out great! My problem is will the k5 be fast auto focusing with the lenses?

Thanks for all your help

George
www.strohlphotography.com

04-24-2012, 07:38 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The K-5 is a bit better at AF, but if you want to do sports you may be better off swapping the Tammy for a Sigma 70-200 with the HSM AF.
The Tammy is a great lens though, and the shots at your site are very cool.
I have done quasi-sports (dance competitions) with the K-5 and Tamron 28-75 and was very happy with the speed of focusing.
I have a Sigma HSM II as my 70-200. Some shots with K-5 here https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/179570-sports-dance-comp...le-photos.html
K-5 and Tamron 28-75 shots here:https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/174309-sports-dance-comp...le-photos.html
04-24-2012, 07:56 PM   #3
Veteran Member