Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-20-2012, 11:28 AM   #1

Upgrading from a *ist DL to a K-5!

Hi all,

I'm a longtime Pentax shooter - my grandfather and uncle used Pentaxes back in the 1960s-1980s, I shot on a Pentax SF10 35mm camera through the 1990s and early 2000s, and in 2006 I picked up a *ist DL. I'm an amateur shooter whose levels of avidness increase and decrease given the amount of time I have to spend, but I aspire to be (and consistently fall short of being) a really good landscape photographer.

As much as I liked shooting Pentax, I've become a bit weary of fighting with the *ist DL's poor dynamic range, poor low-light performance, chronic underexposure and noisy output (all of which could be my fault, as people are certainly capable of getting great output out of that camera). I just ordered a K-5 and *could not be more excited* about exploring the capabilities of this new camera. And since I was much less happy with my most-used lens, the 18-55mm kit lens, in comparison with my DA 10-17mm fisheye and old Takumar 70-200mm, I've also invested in the DA 16-45mm, the DA-L 55-300mm, and the Sigma 10-20 4-5.6. I'm also taking the opportunity to get more current with Photoshop and to try to improve my post-processing skills and workflow.

To say I'm excited to get the new camera and get started would be an understatement. K-5 shooters who have upgraded from previous Pentax D-SLRs, what are you happiest about in your upgrade? What took you the longest to learn? Any tips/tricks to share?

I'm excited to join the community here as well.

Cheers,
Chris Hafner

07-20-2012, 11:56 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums