Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-27-2012, 04:37 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Info on Lens to fit K-5

I am new to Pentax and will be buying the K-5 II soon. Right now I am looking through the "Market Place" for used lens for sale and I see smc, K, M, A, DA, M42,and other markings to describe the model lens. What should I be looking for to know that a particular lens will mount to the K-5 without adapters? In some cases I can copy & paste the lens info for a Google search, but even that does not tell me all the time.
Thank you for any help.

10-27-2012, 04:48 PM   #2
Veteran Member

All of those will mount without adapters except the M42 and M39 lenses (which take a simple mechanical adapter and work). There is a guide to those new to Pentax Lenses at
Pentax K-Mount Lenses Explained: The differences between various Pentax lens series

This may also be helpful:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/99767-comprehe...s-reviews.html

Welcome Aboard!
10-27-2012, 06:43 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Welcome aboard! Some of the lenses which require an adaptor for m42 mount like the Takumars are truly gorgeous so they are worth considering too. It's not that much hassle to take them on and off as well. You can have a lot of fun with spending little money on eBay to get your hands on some crackers like the Super Takumar 50 1.4 which I prefer the rendering of to all my 7 digital lenses and use quite a lot. The takumar lens club is one of the most popular lens clubs in here.cYou can see reviews for them in the links above. There's a whole world of magic with some of the older glass. Happy shooting sir!
10-28-2012, 01:50 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thank you all. I think I have enough info so I can now empty my wallet before all that money I got from selling my Canon gear burns a hole in my pocket.