Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2013, 06:33 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Is Samyang 14mm compatible to K-5 IIS?

Hi Guys,

I recently bought K-5 IIS and this is my first DSLR. I'm very new to camera lenses and i recently ordered a samyang 14mm F2.8 (Link - Samyang Lens 14mm f/2.8 for Canon, Olympus 4/3, Pentax, Samsung NX, Sony (parts and service warranty) ) and tried to mount it on my K-5 IIS but it is not working and i cannot perform any image capture at all.

There is a "-F" image on the top of my LCD panel and it cant perform any shutter at all nor change to live view finder. I did'nt change any settings at all on my camera.

Is the lens not working? or do i need to change some settings for it to work?

12-10-2013, 06:43 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It sounds like the aperture ring on the lens is not in the 'A' position. There's a ring at the base of the lens with a little silver button, an 'A', and numbers. Press the button and turn the ring all the way to the right.
12-10-2013, 06:46 AM   #3

Original Poster
I did turn it but no luck at all.
12-10-2013, 06:58 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Lets start at the beginning. Did you get the For Pentax version of that lens, or some other mount? It must be K-mount, made for Pentax. And it needs to 'click' into place when you mount it.
Next, go to camera Menu and go to the last option where it says Enable aperture ring. Enable that thing. Aperture ring is great.
Now on your lens, you have a focus ring and an aperture ring. On the aperture ring, you have a little pin that you need to hold down, and then you can set the lens to A mode. This will allow the camera to take control over the aperture.
When you turn the camera On, set the focal length to 12mm and go to Av mode. The aperture number should now be displayed.