Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
03-25-2014, 06:29 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
ETTR - recommended settings?

Hello Pentax users,

I am new to this forum (just registered few minutes ago). I had been shooting K5 for more than 2 years now and have been loving it to bits. I just had one or two things I wanted to check with the members here.

When I shoot landscapes with wide dynamic range (or on whatever other situations that will allow me), I would bias my light meter to +3 stops and take meter reading from the highlights.
The WB is set to Auto and the colour setting is set to Natural. Having this settings, at +2 EV, the histogram would be pushed all the way to the right. But I set it to +3EV because I find there is still one stop leeway when the RAW files are opened in Lightroom. So, at +3EV, the Lightroom histogram would be perfectly to the right with no burned out highlight details. That is how I had been shooting lately to capture best possible data.

However, I recently discovered one post on the forum and he seems to have overexposure issues with his camera. Can anyone enlighten me if this issue is worth considering and please share how you get your exposures in landscape shoots.
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/115-pentax-k-5/166195-expose-right-k-5-a.html

And another question is, even though K5 had been performing very well with landscape and portrait shoots, I just started shooting weddings and events as a second shooter and I find focus speed on this camera to be very limiting . I am a hobbyist and this is my first and only camera so far but I am considering to buy K3 if I will shoot more weddings and events.