Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2015, 09:39 PM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by dyoon153 Quote
If you are thinking for reasons to buy it, i think you don't need it that much.
When I first got one, I knew I needed it. I'd just taken 1000-2000 action photos in portrait orientation within a two or three hour time span. My arm simply got too tired. The next day I happily paid the full price for one. The grip makes a huge difference in this scenario. I seldom take my grips off now - they're like a part of my cameras. As you suggested, it really does makes your camera look more professional, and that matters to some people.

But before I started shooting action portraits I didn't really need one.

If you're unsure get this one - I got this for my second body. Well worth the price: Battery Grip For Pentax K7 K-7 DSRL D-BG4 - Newegg.com

The buttons are slightly less solid feeling than the genuine grip, and it doesn't have true WR. But other than that it's an exact duplicate - down to being able to swap battery trays between it and the real thing (I have one of each). Yet it costs only 1/5 the price.

Last edited by DSims; 02-01-2015 at 09:46 PM.
02-02-2015, 12:49 AM   #17
Veteran Member

I had a job once in Houston shooting High School soccer games for a guy. The standard gear was Monopod with 70-200mm mounted to the monopod with the tripod collar, and then a camera in portrait mode on the lens. The grip made all the difference shooting for 2 hours in vertical mode with the shutter button in the right place. Other than this, it's always been nice to have but not a necessity, for this it was a necessity.

SO for me the grip goes with the monopod. It's also nice to have the extra battery if you do a lot of video.
02-02-2015, 08:06 PM   #18
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by DSims Quote