Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2015, 06:07 AM   #1
Veteran Member

K7 to K5

I am at a loss here. I have been satisfied with my K7. Loved the increase in capability from my ist ds. I have been shooting with it for a couple of years now but have recently noticed that higher ISO noise is bothering me more than usual. I take a lot more photos indoors (have a 5 month old) and lighting is not always great so I have pump the ISO up to keep shutter speeds in a good range for good results. I did the comparison between the 5/5II/5IIs and could not really see much of a difference between them, to be honest. I do not shoot video so that is not to be put into the equation. I do shoot cars, both inside and outside, and now inside shots of my daughter. Looking for less noise and better AF, although I usually use MF. Lends used are listed in my signature but will soon include a 21 limited, probably a Tamron 90 (or maybe a 70 limited), and eventually a Tamron 70-200.

Looking for feedback here. K5s are much easier to come by than 5II and 5IIs'. A K3 is way out of my pricing range, and to be honest, I am quite certain I would not need something like it. I never print anything out larger than 8x10.

04-17-2015, 07:19 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The only real differences between the K-5 and K-5II/S are the LCD and the AF module. The IIS lacking the AA filter. If you are shooting low light indoors the K-5 II might be better than the K-5 simply because of the SAFOX X AF module.
04-17-2015, 07:31 AM   #3
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by derelict Quote