Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-10-2018, 11:53 AM   #1

New K-5 owner, help me check this thing out.

Hi,

I just bought a used K-5 with kit 18-55WR, eBay, $200, should arrive tomorrow.
The seller was not a photog, so the camera history is unknown.
Number of shutter cycles unknown.
The listing included a Vivitar 3700 thyristor flash.

Goal: fully check out the camera and lens as soon as it arrives. I rarely return purchases, but it makes sense to start ASAP when necessary,

I'm a noob. This is my first SLR.

Things I've already learned from this forum:
1 - how to check and upgrade firmware
2 - how to check trigger voltage of a vintage flash before slapping it on a modern camera. I'll measure and report the 3700 voltage, so the hive can tell whether it is safe to test basic K-5 functions with this old flash.
3 - how to check # of shutter cycles.

I will read the manual and test everything I can think of, but it would be helpful to have experienced users suggest things to check.

If you bought this used kit, what would you check?

I have tools and knowledge of electronics, I don't have any other DSLR photog equipment.
I'm researching YN560TX + YN560iii or similar off-cam flash capabilities, so hopefully I'll have something soon that will permit testing of ttl functions.

Tips and suggestions welcome!

Thx.

01-10-2018, 11:58 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Apart from checking the camera physically, I would do the following:

1. Take some basic outdoor photos in auto mode / F8 and make sure they are clear and sharp
2. Take some photos at slow shutter speeds hand-held to verify the SR system works fine (i.e. 1/8-1/15s)
3. Take some photos of the sky at F16/F22 to ensure the sensor is free from the "string of pearls" defect (it will be obvious if it's there)
4. Check if the flash fires
5. Ensure that focusing and zooming with the lens is smooth