Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-05-2022, 09:19 AM   #1

K-5 Strange mechanical malfunction.

Hello, I have been using the K-5 for over 10 years, during this time I have taken over 15,000 photos with this particular model. Previously, I had other Pentax models, but this was the first time I encountered such a defect.
The front function wheel did rotate, but it did not change the functions in the camera.
At first, I thought it was a software problem, because lately I've been playing with manual lenses a lot. But after the software reset and uploading the new software again, the circle did not change anything.
As the body is quite old, I decided to take it apart. And it turned out that the wheel has a broken axle.
A strange thing, but I managed to stick the axle to the wheel and assemble the whole thing correctly.

My question is whether anyone has had such a case with this model, or with another Pentax.
And does Ricoh sell spare parts for its cameras to potential home service technicians?

03-05-2022, 11:50 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Do you mean the front thumbwheel?

Ricoh won't sell to privat people, the wheel is identical with the ones of the K5II and K5IIs.
K7 wheel is slightly different but could possibly be taken apart to fit.
Attached Images

03-05-2022, 12:07 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks photogem for the answer, I thought it could be the same with the K5 II. So it's only left to look on the pre-market, but probably no one sells normally.
So far I managed to stick the axle to the ball and it works , but it is not known for how long.
Attached Images

03-05-2022, 12:30 PM   #4

Original Poster
But it's still a very strange thing for me, how it could break under normal use.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
SM-N975F  Photo 
03-05-2022, 03:00 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums