Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-27-2010, 10:56 PM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by m8o Quote
I'm going back to B&H tomorrow. I thought @ 1st this was on the Tamron 28-75/2.8 lens. But then I started shooting this same scene & sky in the same place w/a bit more zoom using the Sigma 70-200/2.8. So sensor seems most likely. ...ya, sux on a brand new camera doesn't it. There's that, and the internal level is off by 3 degrees....

I read a scary thread about someone who had a K-5 that had a sensor which had dust or scratches under the protective film/filter over the sensor, making it impossible to clean. ...I'll know the answer about this splotch tomorrow and whether I'll be returning my body for a replacement or not.
There is a very easy test you can do to check for dust. Stop down your lens, and use a longer exposure (0.5s) and just point to a light wall inside your house. Wave your camera while taking the picture. The dust will remain at the same spot, while everything else will be blurred.

11-27-2010, 11:23 PM   #17
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
There is an electronic viewfinder, but mine is off by almost exactly 3 degrees! And what I read was Pentax USA isn't able to align it yet. I tried my best to use the viewfinder to alight the tripod in the near dark but failed. BTW, don't be fooled by that blazingly lit building in the 2nd photo. The structure isn't perpendicular to the earth.

Yeah, I've heard the electronic level is not trustworthy. It need to be user-adjustable.

But all the verticals in your shot are leaning to the right. I automatically reach for the leveling tool in Elements....that's why I asked about Lightroom.

I'd be amazed if you could return a camera because of a speck of dust. And you better check the level on the new one...
11-27-2010, 11:42 PM   #18
m8o
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by SpecialK Quote