Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-01-2010, 05:44 PM   #1
Veteran Member

RRS L-bracket for the K-5?

I bought the BKL-7 bracket last month, and I must have gotten one of the last ones. I just received the RRS catalog today, and in the price section it says the BKL-7 was "discontinued in late 2010."

Does anyone know if this L-bracket will fit the K-5?

12-01-2010, 07:30 PM   #2

Web site shows "BK7-L" (did you switch the L & 7?) for both cameras, K-7 and K-5. Currently out of stock - due in in mid December. I have one on order for my K-5. I have read that both bodies are almost identical.
12-01-2010, 07:32 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
While I have no hands-on experience (yet, though I'm counting my pennies) I see know reason why the K-7's L-bracket wouldn't fit the K-5. As I understand it, the bodies are exactly the same. This makes me especially glad, as it allows me to use my battery grip from the K-7. The grip also has a camera plate for my tripod head - One less thing to buy!

I will mention, also, that it seems Kirk (who I looked at along side RRS) has done away with their camera-specific L-brackets in favor of a more universal design which only requires a camera-specific plate. They are available in "short" and "tall" varieties that allows the use of cameras with or without a battery grip. I would have appreciated this a year ago, as I wouldn't have purchased the grip-plate and the body-only L-bracket; I really wanted something that could balance the gripped camera on the center of the tripod head.
12-01-2010, 07:44 PM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by emblemex Quote
Web site shows "BK7-L" (did you switch the L & 7?) for both cameras, K-7 and K-5. Currently out of stock - due in in mid December. I have one on order for my K-5. I have read that both bodies are almost identical.