Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2010, 10:50 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Got my K-5!!

I got my K-5 yesterday! It was WAY too cold to go outside and shoot anything fun, so I did some test shots in my apartment. I kept hearing about the DR on this camera, and how spectacular it is, so had to check it out for myself.

HOLY CRAP, this thing is awesome! I know this isn't the best picture in the world, and there's obviously some noise on the couch pillow in the foreground of the shot. But, I'm amazed at how much detail this camera pulled out at ISO 800, with a deliberately underexposed shot.

The following picture is a screen capture from my computer. Just wanted you to see what I saw when I started playing. Using lightroom, I adjusted exposure and fill light.....you can see the rest!

More pictures to come, for sure.

ps......no stain on the sensor.

Attached Images

12-15-2010, 11:12 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Yes DR on the K-5 is awesome.

Welcome aboard
12-15-2010, 11:31 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
WOW!!!
12-15-2010, 12:22 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Congrats. It is one AWESOME camera

12-16-2010, 10:50 PM   #5
m8o
Veteran Member

Boy that's a lot'a black frames there on the bottom!

Do I see a fixie or freewheeler there? I'm pretty surprised how single-speed's taken off regardless of fixed or not. I might see myself living w/one in the flats, but 1:2.5 ratio nearly gave me a heart-attack when I tried to climb some hills when I was considering getting a Trek District; got the Soho instead. Has Phili built-out bike lanes anything like NYC has recently?
12-17-2010, 10:31 AM   #6
Forum Member

Original Poster
K-5 picture samples, I love this camera.

QuoteOriginally posted by m8o Quote
Boy that's a lot'a black frames there on the bottom!