Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-23-2010, 05:04 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Compatibility issue with Tamron 28-75 ?

Hi everyone !
I bought the K-5 with a Tamron 28-75 lense ( Tamron -28-75mm F/2.8(Model A09) ) and I'm having some problems with those two. Since I'm new to Pentax, I wanted to make sure that I had tried everything before complaining to Tamron . So here I am, asking for help in case I overlooked something.

There are two (likely related) problems :
1) when I switch the camera on (with the Tamron lense mounted), it asks me for the "Input focal length". From what I have understood, it happens when the lense doesn't report focal information to the camera... but I believe that this lense is supposed to do so.
2) I can't autofocus : the camera is stuck in manual focus whatever I do (autofocus switch, autofocus button)

The aperture ring is set to "A" and the lense is mounted properly on the camera (AFAICT). I have another lense from Sigma (Sigma AF 70-200mm f/2.8 EX HSM APO DG macro) which is working fine so I believe the problem comes from the Tamron lense...

I updated the camera's firmware to v1.01, I tried to re-mount the lense several times, but nothing has worked so far.

Has anyone experienced a similar issue or is having some clue about what is going wrong ?
Thanks in advance for your help

12-23-2010, 05:38 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sure sounds as if you know what you're doing - and the Sigma works. The Tamron must be defective.
12-23-2010, 05:56 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
If it is a new lens, it sounds like it is the problem. If it is used, perhaps it's just dirty contacts on the back.
12-23-2010, 06:06 PM   #4
Veteran Member

It's the contacts (on the lens IMHO)!
Clean the contacts on both the lens AND body just to make sure.

12-23-2010, 10:40 PM   #5
m8o
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by kamui Quote