Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-16-2011, 03:37 PM   #16
Banned

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Jeff Charles Quote
If Pentax doesn't fix the K-5's problems - poor low light AF, incorrect exposures with shoe mount flash, and sensor stains - I will be surprised and disappointed. I really expect that they will fix them.

They've acknowledged the sensor stains. They probably will not say anything about the other problems until they've got solutions. I have no technical knowledge about AF, but my gut feeling is that fixing the low-light AF faults will not be trivial.

If I had already purchased a K-5, I would not be so patient. My plan is to buy in June when I've got the money and when I will be in the US. By then, I hope that the problems will be fixed and that the price will have dropped. If not, I will hold off until my next US trip, which will probably be in December.

Jeff
Jeff: Wise of you. I'll probably be picking up the K5 by June, if not earlier; once I get the feel that all is being addressed and the price point is realistic (i.e., around $1,300). As Rupert said in an earlier post, for $1,599, we expect to having a working device. Cheers. Don

02-16-2011, 03:41 PM   #17
Banned

QuoteOriginally posted by philbaum Quote
We sort of need to take a big breath and calm down. As a (retired) engineering supervisor, (but not in electronics), i've been on the other side of things several times when a crisis like this occurs, and i can tell you its not fun at all. Initially you get calls every hour from sales people and higher up managers: have you solved it yet?, this is really serious? (like you didn't know that). You finally have to tell the higher ups to get off your back and it;ll get fixed when it gets fixed.