Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
03-19-2011, 08:49 PM   #61
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Smeggypants Quote
Have you tried shooting ISOLess already? if not? why not?
No, I've got a K20D & a K100D Super, and money with 4 kids, is tight. Eventually, I plan to get a K-5 or its replacement.

I'll start shooting young soccer again next month and the focus, burst speed, high-ISO noise & DR issues (particularly when shooting with the sun on the other side of the players - I can't always relocate - and then dodging the shadowed faces in PP) I've been facing for the last 2 years will resurface. This may well force me to upgrade.

Dan.

Last edited by dosdan; 03-19-2011 at 08:56 PM.
03-20-2011, 10:44 AM   #62
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I wonder if someone would mind converting the concepts discussed in this thread to a set of exposure principles for the K-5? For those not totally familiar with all the underlying concepts, it can be a little bit tricky extracting practical methods from theory.
03-20-2011, 02:51 PM   #63
Pentaxian

Original Poster
For you K-5 owners, how about a simple test?

Looking at the picture in Noise and DR comparision: Canon 5D vs 5D2 vs 7D vs Pentax K5 where a shot of a wide DR scene was taken with a K-5 at ISO100 and then 4 stops EV boost applied in PP, compared to the equivalent exposure of shooting at ISO1600, you can see how the highlights are not blown in the desk lamp when using the superior DR of base ISO. (DR decreases with increasing ISO, as already discussed.)