Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-06-2011, 04:52 PM   #1

Should I go for a K5...

Hello All,

I've been scrubbing all the Pentax forums since the beginning of the year. So I'm a newbie here. I'm from the Olynpus E20 and itching now to get a new camera after 10 years. I have to admit, I thought I was going to go by way of Nikon and Canon after my Olympus experience but after looking at it all, Pentax gets my vote. Mosyly because of the build quality, compact size, SR built-in, etc. Most especially are the awesome photos you guys post is wonderful and beyond belief. I only get inspired to do the same.

So here's my question. I really want to get a K5. But in looking at all the photos that get posted I am noticing the clarity and 3d like image quality posted when super high quality lenses that are used (i.e. DA*, Ltd lenses, etc.) If I get a K5, I can only afford the 18-55 kit lens at just about $1500. But frankly I would really like to go for the gusto and get a K5 body and a DA* 16-50 which will put me about $2100 and I just can't go at that price for now. What would be a no brainer for me is if Pentax came up w/ a kit option w/ the 18-135 WR for near the $1500 price. But for now, no can do. My other real option is to go for a KR w/ a 35mm F2.4 lens kit for $760 and then add a DA 16-45 for about $320 both for under $1100. Both those lens look like they deliver divine IQ.

What do you guys think? So should I stretch another $400 and get in on the K5 w/ 18-55 kit lens or go for the KR as described ?

Thanks for your comments,
FotoTix

03-06-2011, 05:49 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Buying the Kr would allow you to get more good lenses now, but if it were me, I would get the K5 and hope I can manage to purchase the DA*16-50 within a year.
03-06-2011, 07:16 PM   #3
Veteran Member

When the shutter opens it's the lens that matters far more than the sensor.