Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-22-2011, 05:22 AM   #1

Any way to change default autobracketing steps?

I'm new to the K-5 and one of the things I want to do is HDR but with RAW files. I want to use larger steps than the default 1/3 step. I'd like to be able to set the default to something higher. e.g. 1 2/3 steps but whenever I return to the autobracketing menu it resets to the default of 1/3 step. Am I doing something wrong or is there a good workaround?

03-22-2011, 06:22 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You do this through the drive mode. Selected by the button right above the OK button. Move to the right until you have selected exposure bracketing. Front dial controls how many images, back dial the exposure steps. It will stay there until you change it. Can program the RAW Fx button to select this.
03-22-2011, 06:51 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I don't have the k-5... perhaps the k-7 which I have is very similar to it. I think you have to set it in the memory tab (from the first folder) to save your EV setting.
03-22-2011, 07:07 AM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

You can also set the Raw/Fx button to instantly put you into the bracketing mode.

In the Settings menu (the one with the red camera) go to page 5 and scroll down to Button Customisation select the RAW/Fx Button press the right joggle key and Exposure Bracketing is the second on the list, select it and press OK.

Now whenever you press the RAW/Fx button you will immediately be in bracketing mode and the camera will take bracketed shots as set. Unlike earlier Pentax cameras coming out of this mode means having to press the RAW/Fx button again and and pressing the left joggle key 4 times to highlight single frame then the OK button, it was better on the K10D.