Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2011, 12:40 PM   #16
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
A good range is definitely needed. The K5 is an amazing crop sensor that way (many others, for that matter). It's very handy if you're forced to underexpose due to conditions, and you can bring some back. For me, I'm shooting at higher ISOs than 400 95% of the time. The difference is negligible. But hopefully Pentax can grow off of this success.

04-17-2011, 01:13 PM   #17
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Rupert Quote
All of a sudden DR range is less important....to Canon and Nikon shooters....isn't that amazing?
Nikon shooters have the D7000 which is virtually the same DR as the K5.

DR might become less important to some Pentaxians when the next generation of FF sensors hits too.

I'm no expert, are all of these shoot 5 ev stops underexposed and slide exposure examples actually showing DR? I thought DR was the difference between the darkest and the lightest thing displayed in a photo at one ev level. The amount you can push the K5 and D7000 files is pretty cool and handy. Definitely better than the 5D which bands when pushed.

In the Flickr example of the K5 vs 5d, Pentax K5 vs Canon 5D II - Collage 03 | Flickr - Photo Sharing! I see no difference in DR in the properly exposed shot for both camera. I see better resolution on the part of the 5D and colors I prefer on the K5, but DR seems a tossup.