Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-04-2011, 10:40 AM   #1

Help choosing first WR lens for K-5

Hello,

I am relatively new to photography and just purchased my first slr, a K-5.

I was wondering if anyone had a recommendation on whether a DA 18-135mm WR or DA 55-200 mm WR would be the best choice for my first lens.

What I would like out of a first lens is a WR lens which would seem to compliment
the K-5 really well, and also a nice zoom range.

My confusion is arising from how to calculate zoom. 135/18 would indicate that
lens has a little over 7x zoom capability. Whereas the 55-200 mm is about a 4x
zoom. What is confusing me is that it seems like all the longer lenses for
greater zoom capability are 300mm, 400mm, even 500-600 mm for the super long shots.

Does anyone know which of the 18-135mm lens or 55-200mm WR lenses has a greater range/optical zoom to compliment my new K-5 and/or a first lens recommendation? What I am basically looking for is to cover as big a range but with as few lenses as possible. My prelim thought was to possibly go 18-135mm WR - and then save for a Sigma 150-500mm for wildlife photography.

Thank you for any help - I really appreciate it! - Janis

05-04-2011, 10:57 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The 55-300 wouldn't be that useful for subjects near you, like in the house. 55mm is still fairly long, meaning you'll need a lot of room to get a full subject in the viewfinder.

For a first lens, I'd go with the 18-135. If you want longer reach, see if you can get the two-lens kit of the 18-55 and 50-200 WR (or 55-300 WR).

Don't worry about 4x or 7x or whatever. Just worry about focal length. Zoom range isn't that important when you can change lenses. Plus, in general, larger zoom ranges can compromise image quality.
05-04-2011, 11:01 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by rfortson Quote