Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-24-2016, 04:48 PM   #1021

Fantastic photo, Pete. You should send it to Sky & Telescope magazine -- maybe they would publish it. Thanks for the data on the exposure time and settings. I'm still trying to learn how to do that.

09-25-2016, 11:05 PM   #1022
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by XLXW Quote
Fantastic photo, Pete. You should send it to Sky & Telescope magazine -- maybe they would publish it. Thanks for the data on the exposure time and settings. I'm still trying to learn how to do that.
Thank you for the praise - but looking at the present publications at T&S I fear it can't compete. I am still learning how to handle the few photons arriving here best......
09-26-2016, 03:43 PM   #1023

Here is an interesting article which a guy wrote and posted over on CloudyNights about hooking up DSLR's to telescopes. It may be useful here -- I don't really know as I am not particularly computer literate: Wireless Control of Canon EOS DSLRs with DSLR Controller and TP-Link MR3040 Wireless Router - User Reviews - Articles - Articles - Cloudy Nights
09-29-2016, 04:52 PM - 4 Likes   #1024
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Pete_XL Quote
WOW! Lots of kudos!
What setup besides the K5 did you use?

Regards, Pete
Pete,
I now have an Skywatcher Maksutov Newtonian MN190 telescope that I mount on a Orion Atlas Pro AZ/EQ-G mount with the "Orion Awesome Autoguider" Package. To focus precisely I have a Bahtinov mask. The mount can control the camera so I just set it up to track at a specific object and take 40 shots or so and stack them in Deep Sky Stacker and do further editing in Photoshop. This telescope has an amazing flat field and is my dedicated deep sky astrograph.

Here is a shot of the Iris Nebula.

Enjoy!

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
 Photo 
09-29-2016, 05:14 PM   #1025
Site Supporter