Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
07-20-2011, 05:39 AM   #1

adjusting focus

Hello everyone. Foremost if this topic has been covered already (i'm sure it has somewhere) sorry for reposting and could someone please redirect me.

I am fairly new to focus adjusting and I am not sure what I am doing wrong. I am attempting to focus adjust three of my lenses. A Sigma 30mm, a smc DA 21mm F3.2 AL Limited and a smc DA 16-45mm F4.0 ED AL.

I've followed the instructions provided on this website. AF adjustment test chart to help with the Pentax K20D Custom Setting No.34 - Digital Cameras - Zimbio

To my knowledge I did everything correctly (aligned the center of the lens to the center of the focus chart, disabled Image stabilization, opened the aperture etc)

What confuses me is that no matter what I set my focus adjustment to I see no difference in the photos I've taken. I mean I've shot from +10 all the way to -10 and see no differences between either photo.
I realize I must be doing something wrong. Can someone help me out?

07-20-2011, 07:07 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Let's see some examples.
07-20-2011, 09:12 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think I've read somewhere on this site that you need to turn on/off the camera to "see" the adjustments.
07-20-2011, 12:30 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Thesorus Quote
I think I've read somewhere on this site that you need to turn on/off the camera to "see" the adjustments.
I've adjusted one of my lenses and saw the adjustment right away. I actually readjusted it this morning just to make sure and I didn't have to turn the camera off at all to see the difference.