Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-22-2011, 08:53 AM   #1

K5 & blowing out the highlights

Hi all,

I am new to the Pentax world and this forum, thanks for letting me chat in. I am having a issue with my new K5's that I hope you all can help me out with. I have 2 K5's, one with 16-50 f2.8 on it and the other with the 50-135 f2.8. This past couple of weeks I have been putting the cameras to work shooting just about everyday. The issue that I am having with both cameras is "blowing out the highlights". Examples > went to Yollowstone, shot 876 frames and most of the ones with white clouds or anything bright white like Old Faithful, the highlights are gone. Exposure was good, but bright whites gone. Same thing happen to me this past weekend. Attended a wedding, shot about 100 frames of the bride and groom (both dress in white), again exposure is good, but whites really blown. With this happening to both cameras, I am thinking that I don't have something set right in the camera setting. Any thoughts. Sorry if post is everywhere, typing from phone and little screen. Thanks everyone.

09-22-2011, 09:21 AM   #2
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Just my experience......the K5 seems to save highlights very nicely, but you still have to be careful. Some lenses are worse that others, in particular my DA*50-135, it tends to overexpose and I compensate by backing down the exposure and then working in post processing if necessary to bring up the shadows, which is a snap with the K5. I generally find the multi-segment metering to be excellent, depending on the scene. If it is a landscape, I go to it every time....with singular subjects, I mostly use the spot metering.

Experimenting with my different lenses has shown that some are better suited than others for certain conditions of bright lighting...or dark.
Best Regards!
09-22-2011, 09:29 AM   #3
Veteran Member