Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-24-2011, 12:04 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pentax K5 Battery Grip Why?

I am relatively new to Pentax (one year only with the Kx) and just ordered a K5. I have several questions for the K5 veterans: (1) Why do I need to buy a battery grip? My Kx does not have room for one, and I did just fine. (2) The Pentax grip for the K5 (and K7) is rather expensive, the aftermarket are 20% of the cost, are they any good, are they safe to use with the K5? (3) Firmware, what is that? Do I need to install a firmware 1.01 on my K5 (this is advise from this forum to be able to shoot fast speed), can I install that myself? Also, is there a 1.02 already? Where do I get it? Hey, thanks for your patience and I am all ears.

09-24-2011, 12:18 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

1. Because the camera is too small without it and it makes verticals easier and it extends your battery life
2. Aftermarket ones aren't weather-sealed and apparently wear out faster (see here)
3. Post a separate thread / see here

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
09-24-2011, 12:18 PM   #3
Veteran Member

My main reason for my battery grip preference is that it make for a much better hold and balance for my large hands.
I have had grips on K10d, K20d and K5 and find it much better handling and balance in all cases.
And, as Adam says, it is great for vertical (portrait format) shots with the extra shutter button etc for that purpose. Makes using the camera in the vertical position much easier.