Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-14-2011, 05:27 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Best New K5 Features

I've been impressed with the K5, but am still learning all it can do. What is the best new feature of this camera.
I've been shooting seriously for almost four decades and also own a K10D and K20D, so I'm not looking for answers like "expanded ISO" or "better AF."

10-14-2011, 05:37 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums

...alright, I'll just keep quiet then...

(Although, to me, expanded ISO and better AF are GREAT features. The main reasons for me to upgrade from k-7, definitely)

*failing to keep quiet*

...Uhm, what kind of feature DO you want to discuss then? This is my third pentax dslr also, and I've been taking photos since I was seven years old, and I can't for the life of me think of features that matter more to me than high iso performance and AF-accuracy... now I feel I must have been missing something...
10-14-2011, 06:31 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The biggest improvement when i went up to the k-5 was it's insane dynamic range. I could severely underexpose photo to preserve all the highlight details and then boost shadows in post and still get nice clean files to work with. In fact, the only time the noise became an issue from boosting in post was when i decided to boost a picture around 8 stops or so just to see if i could get away with it. A quick B&W conversion later and i still managed to get a perfectly usable photo
10-14-2011, 06:53 AM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by adpo Quote