Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2011, 07:13 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
K5 menus

I'm a Pro photographer & have just bitten the bullet & upgraded to a new K5 body.

I've been a along time Pentaxian starting with the Super A, (3) an LX, evolving to 2 x MZ5ns & began the digital journey with the *istD, to the K10 & have been running 2 K20D's.
I skipped the K7 after testing the model, as not worth the change over, something that a lot of people also seemed to conclude.

I've loved every one of my cameras, but this latest incarnation has me stumped.
It takes great pictures & although I've only had it a week I haven't noticed any of the issues that others seem to have experienced.

My dilema is who was the moron in the design room who (a) decided to make the anti shake feature a menu item instead of a on/off switch? surely when you mount a camera on a tripod & need to turn off the antishake you don't need to go digging through endless menu items to find it.

(b) More importantly, the format facility for memory cards is also buried 4 menues in & at the bottom of the list. Talk about stupid!

The SD card should be formatted every time it's used to ensure that images don't corrupt & yet again we have to go trolling through the menu items every time we insert a card.

Come on Pentax, you have been making fantastic cameras long enough to know what the important features are that we users need to get to quickly, so why bury these important every day usage items way down in the depths.
Was the designer having a bad day, or did you let the apprentice out of the box for the day?

Can this be resolved with a software upgrade? If it can, I'm sure I'm not the only one who'd appreciate you making the effort.

I'd also appreciate said moron getting to read this message so he/she doesn't make similar mistakes in the next model.