Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-02-2011, 03:07 AM   #1
Forum Member

Pentax K5 + DA21 focus issues

Hey guys, having a blast with my new K5 but ive picked up a few niggling issues, a lot of the pictures are coming up soft. The pictures are generally not as sharp as I'd hope them to be. Am I just hoping for too much or is something awry? I'm very new to this whole lens adjusting thing - should it be something to look at in more detail? From what i've read people usually line up a number of objects ranging in distance, and test the accuracy of, say, the centre focus point and see if the camera actually focus on that centre focus point and not the rear or front points?

11-02-2011, 04:03 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
There are different kinds of softness. I tried my friends DA21 yesterday on my K-5 and it seemed very sharp to me, even wide open. No AF problem with that sample. Did you do the test on tripod to eliminate camera shake? Perhaps best if you can share some examle of soft picture taken with your gear.
11-02-2011, 05:25 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Have you tried adjusting the AF correction in the body?

Maybe your lens needs an adjustment to be dead on accurate, it is very common
11-02-2011, 06:03 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Over the years, people have asked this kind of question about a new body and lens repeatedly. There are many reasons for slight softness. Here are a few common ones:

1) AF point is not where the shooter thinks. Be sure the red dot is on the desired point of focus and the desired point is not too small. For me, when I got my first prosumer Pentax (K10d) AF misses were my number one cause of softness.

2) Lens AF adjustment as noted above. Different lenses may front or back focus with a particular body.

3) Slow shutter speed. Shake reduction issues: off while handheld (or on while on tripod)

4) Object outside of depth of field of lens