Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-02-2011, 10:04 PM   #1
Forum Member

K-5 power/depth of preview switch incredibly stiff/stuck, help!

Basically out of nowhere, my K-5 on switch/depth of field preview switch has gotten stiff. I really mean nowhere, I turned it on, shot a few shots, turned it off, then 2 minutes later, camera still in hand turned it on again, and it wouldn't rotate properly, I have to hold the camera in my left hand and forcibly rotate it with my right. I'm guessing the seal has gone and screwed up somehow? London drugs won't exchange it, even though I'm within the exchange period due to a scratch on the screen(not related to my issue with a brand new camera.
Should've bought it at Henry's 150$ less and a decent warranty.

Any suggestions on how I can fix this, I can't afford the month of downtime for Pentax to fix it, I'm a photography student and need to be shooting for class, I just picked up a lens and the other stuff I needed for that, I can't afford a 2nd body.

First time I've ever bought new, and it's turning into a bad experience.

11-02-2011, 10:23 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If it's stiff all of a sudden, it might be on the verge of breaking. I would just leave it in the ON position if you need to use the camera in the immediate future, and then send it in under warranty when you're on break.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
11-02-2011, 10:29 PM   #3
JGB
Forum Member

Original Poster