Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-10-2011, 03:49 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Video on the K5

So I'm seriously taking a look at the K5 as my next DSLR purchase, its quality of stills work is well documented, and I really like its look.
I would be getting this camera mainly for stills, but my background is video, and I want to be able to do atleast a little video work with it (mostly for fun!) I know there have been threads on here about the video capabilities of the K5, but not for a while, and opinions change, the camera isn't even a year old yet!
So, now that I got through all that, what's video on the K5 like (in comparison to say the 7D)? How's the compression and noise? One more thing.. the impressive black level resolution of the camera in stills mode, does this carry over to video?

11-10-2011, 04:29 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Check out our in-depth 7d vs K-5 comparison for some commentary on the video performance:
Canon 7D vs. Pentax K-5 - Comparative Review

The K-5 is still lagging behind the competition when it comes to video, unfortunately, but that doesn't mean you can't get good videos with it if you try hard enough!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
11-10-2011, 05:21 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Shall I post again the recent videos I did?

11-10-2011, 06:05 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by LaurenOE Quote
Shall I post again the recent videos I did?