Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-25-2011, 11:52 AM   #1

Help with K5 settings for an indoor party

I am new to DSLR photography and the K5 is my first proper camera which allows you to change and make adjustments.

I am still get to know the camera and have taken 800 outdoor photos which the results are amazing.

I have been asked to take some photos at an indoor birthday party and I want to set the camera up so I can basically point and shoot and make changes later on the computer.

From experience or lack of I have found when ever I take photos indoors in low light conditions the photos are always blurry especially when people are moving.

Is there any one who can tell me what settings to set the camera too?

The party will be in relatively low light with disco lights and people dancing moving around so I would like to capture this.

The party is tomorrow and as an extra present I will get the photos turned into a book, I hope.

I know my way around the camera I just need to know a fail safe setting and what you would do.

I will be shooting in raw.

Thankyou

Last edited by jazon; 11-25-2011 at 11:53 AM. Reason: spelling
11-25-2011, 12:03 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you don't use flash... TAv mode is your friend, use a fast lens (2.8 or faster if you can) and use larger aperture (but not wide open) and shutter speed of 1/125 or where-about depending of subject movement, let the camera choose whatever iso needed. Also, I would use center-weight metering; adjust EC accordingly.
11-25-2011, 12:11 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by aleonx3 Quote
If you don't use flash... TAv mode is your friend, use a fast lens (2.8 or faster if you can) and use larger aperture (but not wide open) and shutter speed of 1/125 or where-about depending of subject movement, let the camera choose whatever iso needed. Also, I would use center-weight metering; adjust EC accordingly.