Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-13-2011, 02:20 PM - 1 Like   #1

Photos: Gallery
HDR Modes, explanation please

I have been experimenting with the HDR feature on the K5 with some respectable results. The K5 HDR feature has 5 modes (Auto, Standard, Strong 1 - 3). Does anyone know what the different modes do? When I venture outside auto mode, I don't really know what to expect and my experiments have been rather inconclusive. Can someone explain what the manual doesn't?

Attached Images

12-13-2011, 03:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Excellent question, I too have had the same experience so far. No real idea what to expect across the 5 so far. Looking forward to reading about it here. Thanks for asking the question.
12-13-2011, 03:50 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I've been doing HDR now for four years and while I consider myself accomplished at it, I do it all in post processing from the RAW files. While both the K7 and K5 can do HDR from the jpegs in the camera, I've never played with it. I may not be unique in this either. I suggest that you set your camera on a tripod, find a scene with a lot of variation of light and shadow and do some test shots with the different modes. See which you like.
12-13-2011, 04:02 PM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

My understanding is the exposure and merging algorithm is adjusted accordingly based on the selected HDR mode:

HDR Strong: -3.5 | 0 | +3.5
HDR Normal: -1 | 0 | +1

etc, etc, etc...

That probably did not help much in answering your question though...

12-13-2011, 04:03 PM   #5

Original Poster