Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-17-2011, 01:40 PM   #1

Questions from a potential K5 purchaser

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi. I'm thinking about taking a leap and getting the K5, and I'm hoping some folks can help me with some questions to help me decide whether to do this. I'm a relative beginner photographer; I've taken photographs for a while, but recently have decided I would like to dive into this more and learn more/take more photographs as a way of expression and seeing the world through new eyes. Earlier this year, I bought a Canon T3i and now have some buyer's regret, seeing how amazing the Pentax K5 appears to be.

So my questions:

1. If I do decide to buy the K5, I don't feel in a huge rush and I'm wondering if I should wait for prices to come down, as they generally seem to with cameras. Or is the current $300 instant rebate through Jan. 31 really worth taking advantage of?

3. What would people recommend for a good quality walk-around lens with a medium zoom range that will allow the K5 to shine (and that I would probably buy instead of the kit lens), but that won't bankrupt a person? I guess I'm hoping to find a quality lens for no more than $500. Is that reasonable? I've looked at lens reviews and it gets a little overwhelming trying to decide.

Thanks in advance for sharing. I love this forum and its friendliness - another reason to get a Pentax!

Peace, Christopher

12-17-2011, 01:52 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums