Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by D4rknezz Quote
Did you try what jolepp said?
Sheesh, don't people read???

From post #7:

QuoteOriginally posted by Christine Tham Quote
the annoying imprecision in the AF is STILL THERE, even in relatively good light.
And before you ask, yes I do understand the importance of using a tripod, ensuring that the camera has a good unambiguous target, doing the test from multiple conditions (lens pre-focused, front focused, back focused etc.). I have been using cameras for over 30 years and and started out with a Yashica rangefinder. I currently have 5 Pentax bodies starting from the Spotmatic. 6, counting the *ist D which my brother still uses. [Edit: oops, 7 - forgot about the broken Super A - okay, I am not good at getting rid of old camera bodies.]

12-25-2011, 12:14 AM - 1 Like   #32
Veteran Member

I was one of the earliest to get a K-5 when it was first launched and recently I decided to send my K-5 together with my new DA* 55mm f/1.4 to Pentax Japan to get focus calibrated as I felt even the AF adjustment available on the camera couldn't get me tack sharp images. Prior to that my Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 HSM didn't seem very sharp, especially wide open.

Well when I got back my K-5 from Pentax Japan, I was blown away by how sharp the camera focuses. No focus issues both indoors in incandescent lighting or outdoors at all. My DA* 55mm and my Sigma are like completely new lenses, just so uber sharp even wide open. So in conclusion I have to say it wasn't the lenses but the camera body that needed a tweak. I have to thank Pentax Japan for a stellar job and quick turnaround.
12-25-2011, 12:25 AM   #33
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by creampuff Quote