Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-03-2012, 09:11 AM   #1

K-5 for soccer and baseball + lens recommendation

I am in the process of evaluatingnew equipment and believe the K-5is leading at the moment. I am an amateur regarding photography skill but hope to change that status in the near future. At the momentI am focusing on taking sports pictures, specifically soccer and basketball. I like what I have read about the K-5 andespecially the indoor abilities (ISO range). Unfortunately I do have a budget so I am trying to purchase the necessary equipment for$1,500 - $2,000 range. I would really appreciate hearing from members who haveused the K-5 for sporting events, especially soccer and basketball. In addition, thelens you would recommend for such events.
Adam was kind enough to share the following recommendation regarding the lens:
Tamron70-200mm F2.8 lens would be an excellent choice for sports:

01-03-2012, 09:53 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Skill > gear any day for getting good shots. with that being said, i tend to use an old Canon FD 300mm f/4L that has been adapted to k mount as my primary lens for soccer. If you got the budget, check out the Sigma, FA* and DA* equivalents, as you get autofocus with those lenses as well. As much as i'd love to have any of those for myself, i just don't have the funds On my second body, usually my roommate's k-x, i have an M135mm f/3.5 for when action gets close. this setup i use is fairly affordable, but requires a bit more skill as it requires that you know how to use fully manual lenses.

as for the tamron 70-200, i havent had a chance yet to shoot with that lens. i have, however, shot with the sigma hsmii and found it quite the competent lens for sports. With that being said, i'd still only use the 70-200 as a backup for the 300 when shooting soccer. For basketball, you can get quite a bit closer than soccer, so you can most likely make do with the 70-200.