Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-10-2012, 04:57 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

K5 to K10 comparison

Hello to all the forum - this is my first proper post so apologies if I screw things up a bit.
I am fairly new to DSLR and am currently shooting with a K10d and Sigma 120 -400 on a monopod for windsurf & kite surf shots. (See examples below)
My question is to do with the comparison of focus performance of the K5 relative to the K10d. (I realise there is many views regarding the focus system of the K5 itself but I really want to get a measure against the K10d)
My current keeper rate due to better focus has gone up with practice but I think it could improve with the purchase of a K5? Any input would be greatly appreciated –thanks in advance.

Attached Images

View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K10D  Photo     
01-10-2012, 05:17 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
there are many things to consider, but if you want to consider just AF and focus, i think the differences will be pretty small, with respect to yoru apparent shooting conditions, which are just about ideal for any AF system. (bright sunlight and high contrast)

Where I think you will score better, is the following.

- Bumping the ISO on the K5 to get better DOF, which will increase your keeper rate as much as anything else,
- making use of the better dynamic range of the sensor, to protect highlights and boost shadow detail in post processing (if shooting RAW) or use Highlight protect and Shadow detail protect, (if shooting JPEG) the K5 sensor has much better dynamic range than the K10D which is prone to blown highlights, (based on my experience)
- boosting ISO for more shutter speed, to freeze images.

Overall, although AF performance will not greatly improve in bright sunlight, there are the above points that make the K5 a better body, and one that should produce more keepers
01-10-2012, 05:17 PM   #3
Administrator