Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
01-21-2012, 02:00 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
K-5, P-TTL and event photography

First of all, not sure if this question goes here, or in the "photographic technique" but since the question is specific to K-5, I will ask here.

I have little experience with event photography - most of my exp is in portrait, or street photography. But a friend of mine who saw some pics recommended me to a social event in Chicago, with about 300 attendees. The event is at night, at an antique showroom, with some reflective ceiling, but some not. I will be shooting with my K5, mostly at a higher ISO using my DA * 16-50mm. There will be a lot of pics of attendees,

Anyways, I shot with K10D with AF540 flash a long time ago, and it confused me. Since then, I have shot mostly with a vivitar 285 for mostly product shots. I am thinking of going back to buying a P-TTL flash, since I don't want to manually dial in values every time a scene/light changes. While I am not a pro, good pictures from this event will help me with other gigs. I am also thinking I would buy a bounce card (Demb FlipIt seems to be popular) to maximize the exposed light. Besides, this event will have a party atomosphere (not quite the night club, but definitely dim light)

That said, I worry about P-TTL not being reliable with K-5 - as it was a while ago when I shot K10D. Has anyone enough experience with K5 and AF540 combo (or any other flash), share any advice shooting P-TTL for event photography? What is a typical compensation I should use if I use a bounce card? I plan to shoot using higher ISO and use LightRoom to get rid of noise.

While we are on this topic, any other advice? Get a monopod?

Thank you all!

PS: I am trying to achieve results like this (even if unsuccessful)

Last edited by pentaman; 01-21-2012 at 02:38 PM.
01-21-2012, 02:59 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums