Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-23-2012, 08:44 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shooting 6 MP JPEGs; am I giving up too much?

Hi All! I suspect I know how the answers will run here, but curious for opinions. I used to shoot RAW with my K100d, but on moving up to the K20d my computer just couldn't handle the files, plus I was running out of hard drive space. So I started shooting JPEGs, and as I had never needed a larger print from the K100d, I set the K20d to 6MP. I would try to remember to use the RAW button when I saw something really good, and would switch to RAW for special projects; but honestly as the noise seemed so much more pronounced I always went back. I really like not having to process every shot, and feel I can do a fair bit of work on JPEGs with FastStone, GIMP, etc. if I have to.

Still, now I have upgraded both my PC and my camera again, this time to a K5. As I went through and adjusted my settings, I again went to 6MP JPEGs. But I have been thinking perhaps I am giving up some of the good for which I bought the K5 in the first place. Any body-specific thoughts on the trade-offs involved?

Thanks, Nick

02-23-2012, 08:56 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
If you're happy with the photos, I can't imagine what you're missing. You still get the good high ISO image quality of the K-5, as well as all its other charms as a camera body.
02-23-2012, 09:11 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
you're giving up several stops of extra DR (depending on iso), extra room for cropping and tweaking in post. if you can nail your exposure and dont care about all those other bits, then you're probably not missing much
02-23-2012, 09:12 PM   #4
hcc
Pentaxian