Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-26-2012, 01:16 PM   #1

Thinking of switching from Nikon D300s

Hello Community!
I just found this site and I would like to ask for advise about switching from Nikon D300s to Pentax K-5.
First of all I am not a pro photographer, my interest in photography is family, animals, macro and stuff like that. Right now I have a D300s. I don't have expensive lenses.
I have researched and seems that the K-5 is a better option. I have a budget of around $2500 dollars for a new camera system.
Besides the camera what lenses should I get?
Thanks in advance for your input.
Mr. Leon

02-26-2012, 01:41 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum.
Mr Leon, you mention that the K-5 is a better option over the D300s. What research brings you to this conclusion? And in what way are you looking for a 'better' camera than the D300s. The D300s is a very good camera, and has stood the test of time as a top APS-C camera. The K-5 does not quite match its autofocusing abilities, and this is an important consideration particularly in low light situations. Lenses are indeed where it's all at, though. So if you don't want to invest in good Nikon lenses (which are expensive), then Pentax is a good option. The K-5 is an excellent camera, nevertheless, and given the caveat above and a couple of little nuances, including some difficulties with P-TTL flash exposures, it is definitely worth its current cost. But more importantly, Pentax have created some excellent lenses that are both small and lightweight, yet maintain brilliance in the image quality arena. This is one of the big advantage points to Pentax, and carrying around a K-5 with some of these small lenses will be much easier on your neck than a D300s with similar lenses.