Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-28-2012, 03:57 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
New K5 - Lens Advice

Hi Guys

I wondered if I could ask for some advice:

I'm very excited today, annual bonus has just landed in the bank account and I'm just about to pop out and purchase a nice new K5 :-)

I've only recently started to take my photography more seriously and I'm currently studying Studio Photography part time at a local college. My main passion is family portraits and I've already done a couple of semi commercial shoots which I've been pleased with. I have some studio gear at home and it's this area that I want to concentrate on, but I also enjoy landscape and nature photography. (I've attached a few of the sorts of images I like taking below)

I currently have a K200D which is a great camera but looking forward to the improved features of the K5. My question is really about suggestions for Lenses, my budget is pretty limited so I'm looking to spend another £500-£600 (up to about $1000) on top of the cost of the K5. I currently have the following:

SMC Pentax-M 1:1.7 50MM
Sigma DG 1:4-5.6 70-300mm
Sigma APO 1:5-6.3 170-500MM
SMC Pentax DA II 1:3.5 −5.6 18-55MM (K200D Kit Lens)

What I really want is something that's going to give me the versatility and image quality for studio and portrait images but I'm not sure wether to go down the 'Primes' route or stick with the versatility of smaller zoom lens etc.

I'd appreciate any advice you may have.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by akirkby; 02-28-2012 at 10:17 AM.
02-28-2012, 07:58 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
An 28-75/2.8 should fit your bill (e.g. Tamron 28-75/2.8 costs around US$500).
02-28-2012, 08:35 AM   #3

I'd go wider.

If you can get the 21mm limited, i think it would be a good buy (it will be the next lens I get).
02-28-2012, 09:09 AM   #4