Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-02-2012, 11:03 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Upgrade from Canon T3

Hi everyone. I'm looking to upgrade my Canon T3 that I got as a gift. I've looked at the Canon7d, Nikon D7000, Sony A77 and the K-5. I thought that I had decided on the K-5 with the DA 18-135mm "kit" lens because of the image quality that I've seen and the weather sealing (which is very important to me) ... Then I read the "Thinking of switching from Nikon D300s"thread. After reading that thread, I had given up on the K-5, but after more research, I kept coming back to it. I have limited experience, but I need a camera to withstand the elements. I do a lot of hiking and mountain biking and I'd like to be able to bring a camera that can take an excellent picture (I don't care about video).

I have some concerns over lens selection and the recent takeover by Ricoh. Any advice from k-5 owners would be appreciated.

For anyone else who may have been put off by the D300 thread, maybe take a look at these links:

The Pentax K5 Digital Camera Review | STEVE HUFF PHOTOS

Pentax K5 Photography by Jim Radcliffe

Jim.

03-02-2012, 11:28 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Jimkol Quote
Hi everyone. I'm looking to upgrade my Canon T3 that I got as a gift. I've looked at the Canon7d, Nikon D7000, Sony A77 and the K-5. I thought that I had decided on the K-5 with the DA 18-135mm "kit" lens because of the image quality that I've seen and the weather sealing (which is very important to me) ... Then I read the "Thinking of switching from Nikon D300s"thread. After reading that thread, I had given up on the K-5, but after more research, I kept coming back to it. I have limited experience, but I need a camera to withstand the elements. I do a lot of hiking and mountain biking and I'd like to be able to bring a camera that can take an excellent picture (I don't care about video).