Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2012, 08:50 AM   #1
Inactive Account

How good is the K-5?

This will be a very open question and I expect some interesting answers. At this point I am using a Nikon D300, 20 2.8d, 20-35 2.8d, 80-200 2.8 AF-S lens. I have read some about the K-5 and it looks great on paper but want to know about real use. I have been a working photographer for 30 some years, and still do a small amount of work but now do work for myself, outdoors for the most part. I am also looking at getting the K-01 so this is my reason for wanting more info on the K-5. I plan on selling all my Nikon gear, yes I know not the best idea, why not upgrade the Nikon. For one, the glass is so out of sight price wise and I am getting tired of the Nikon/Canon crap, I want to move pass all of that, try something different. I also have the Olympus epl-2 that I plan on selling. I like the olympus but find it not right for my needs, m4/3rds compaired to the APS size sensor.

So, how good is the K-5

03-11-2012, 10:27 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I only have three k-5s if that is any indication of what I think. It makes the lenses i no longer use because I don't like the quality of the image look really good. My Ltd, DA and sigma primes are beyond amazing.
The D300 has been around a long time so it is probably showing its age. I can't compare with your system other then I would be carting around a massive amount of weight.
03-11-2012, 10:34 AM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by exposed Quote

So, how good is the K-5
There is no answer to your question, which will likely only get a long list of opinions and vague comments. There are many such threads already :-)

You should look in the galleries for images, etc, or ask about specific features.
03-11-2012, 10:38 AM   #4
Pentaxian

[deleted]

Last edited by beholder3; 08-11-2013 at 07:37 AM. Reason: [deleted]
03-11-2012, 10:39 AM   #5
Veteran Member