Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-16-2012, 07:18 PM   #1

Just got my K-5, now it's time for a lens (warning, I am a noob)

So, I just got my K-5 and like it alot so far but want to try out an older prime lens. and I found this lens:
CHINON 50mm 1:1.9 (SMC/S-M-C/Super-/Auto-/Takumar 55mm F1.8 Reviews - M42 Screwmount Normal Primes - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database)
I wanted to make sure that this lens would work with my K-5 without any adapters or anything.

Just to make sure, the older lenses will have an aperture ring that I use, correct?
If this lens does require a mount do you know any other (cheap) alternatives?

Thank you

03-16-2012, 07:32 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Congratulations! That lens link is for M42 lenses which use an older attachment system involving threads and screwing in the lens. They need an adapter to mount on the K-5 which is a bayonet type attachment. The Chinon 50/1.9 is a K mount and should work fine with the K-5.
03-16-2012, 07:49 PM   #3

I would suggest that one of the "Pentax A" lens would be good for a beginner based on value, ease of use and image quality.
03-16-2012, 08:02 PM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

If you want a cheap prime, I can recommend this one: SMC Pentax-A 50mm F1.7 Reviews - A Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

As far a general walkaround lens, the 18-135mm is a perfect fit!

Pentax-DA 18-135mm Zoom Review - Overview - PentaxForums.com

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
03-16-2012, 08:31 PM   #5

+1 on Pentax-A 50mm f1.7