Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-02-2012, 07:14 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
First Photo Shoot With My K-5= Impressed

Folks lets just start out by letting you all know that I am a mere novice and I am still learning. I have always been into photography strictly as a hobby(couldn't afford film and developing costs)
Since the beginning of last year I have owned the K-x and I have been taking all kinds of shots with it and relearning photography in the digital world. I have never shot and actual"photoshoot" but I felt it was time to get my feet wet, and just do it.
I had a good friend contact me telling me that her son was in town and she wanted family photos done, so we set the date of two weeks ago and I set out to do it. The shoot went fine, sunny day out at the lake in a park like setting. I have really got to work on my background composition but that will come with time and practice.
It started out with me arranging everyone in all kinds of combinations and all actually went pretty well. I learned a lot during this shoot especially about lighting and posing and backgrounds, but I managed to pull it all off just fine, even though I have only done about fifty shots on my new K-5 before I attempted this shoot, so I was still learning the camera as well. I was surprised at how easy this camera is to use, one thing I really like is the fact that I rarely ever need to take my eye off the viewfinder in order to make an adjustment because those e dials are just awesome and handy.
I didn't really chimp a lot due to the fact that I am used to my K-x and with that camera I would just glance at the screen on the back just to make sure the image was exposed correctly, I carried that habit over on to the K-5, I barely use the rear LCD screen on this camera.....don't need to.