Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-07-2012, 05:08 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
K-5 sensor red sensitivity?

Greetings all! I'm new to the forum, and this is my first post

I purchased a K-5 with kit lens plus the DA21 Limited in December and have been trying to learn the camera. My background is really old-school--Minolta SR T-101, Hasselblad 500C, Calumet 4x5 rail camera, etc. Although I've had digital cameras in the past, this is the first serious digital purchase for me.

Today I was doing some test shots and found that the sensor seems to be incredibly sensitive to red/orange in RAW mode. Some orange-red flowers were really blown out, despite a nominally "correct" exposure. A red gasoline can had a similar problem, although not as severe. Also, skin tones seem a bit on the pink side. Greens and grays (such as landscaping & tree bark) seem to be balanced.

So, my question is (after having searched and not found any previous threads)--is the K-5 sensor especially sensitive to reds and oranges?

04-07-2012, 06:40 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not that I know of - it might be because of the white balance you are using, or how you're developing the raw files.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

04-07-2012, 06:52 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks for the reply, Adam--the blown out reds are in the non-developed raw (DNG) photos.